Wednesday 22 November 2017

Daniel O'Sullivan Releases New EP & Live Dates

Daniel O’Sullivan has released a new four-track EP, The Many Are We, featuring two tracks from his latest solo album of luminous pop incantations, electroacoustic music and shimmering drones, VELD, and two brand new recordings. Listen to the EP here:

2017’s dates include O Genesis’ Yuletide celebrations - two nights at Servants Jazz Quarters in London on 18 and 19 December. The two nights will see Daniel O’Sullivan performing with both the Dream Lion Ensemble and Grumbling Fur and the bill includes Richard Youngs, Alexander Tucker and Elephant House and DJ sets from Tim Burgess, Nik Void and Luke Turner. Further information and tickets from:

Whether solo or in his varied collaborative projects, O’Sullivan’s work is remarkable in the way it infuses familiar everyday experience with traces of the uncanny, the secret and the magickal. VELD distils these tangled realities into a wonderfully rich and complex record - one of his most immediate and moving pop albums to date, yet one that's strikingly dense and allusive, alive with enticing sonic diversions, hypnotic mantras and eerie biomechanical rhythms.

O’Sullivan’s varied work is united by a love of bricolage, a fascination for drawing sounds and ideas from across disciplines and aesthetic worlds into a shared orbit. Traces of his many projects all meet and mingle in VELD: from his solo music as Mothlite to the lysergic songcraft and space-time vortices of Grumbling Fur (with Alexander Tucker) and Laniakea (with Zu’s Massimo Pupillo), the reality-distorting zones of Æthenor and Ulver, the electronic pop of Miracle (with Zombi synth maestro Steve Moore), and his recent involvement with another pioneering London group, This Is Not This Heat.

Written during a time of great personal upheaval and growth, these are songs steeped in thoughts of change and growth: the joys, fears and strangeness of parenthood and family life, loss and grief, the passing of time. Yet they’re also inspired by the transformative, self-obliterating potential of sound and music - its ability, explains O’Sullivan, “to weave together multiple voices, forms and aspects of the self into a unifying whole.” So throughout you hear O’Sullivan’s voice merging and phasing with guest vocalists including Linn Carin Dirdal, Jael Reasoner and Astrud Steehouder, as the music surges from astral pop songs (‘Scorpio Rising Blues’, ‘Sabotage Devices’, ‘Luminous Fibres’) to dubbed-out electronics and burning feedback (‘Plutonians’, ‘The Projector’), fractal sound collage and spidery guitar pieces (‘Doe A Deer’, ‘Be Honour You’).

The result is a record whose songs evoke multiple universes and other possible realities, and O’Sullivan’s most unified and self-contained solo work to date.

24 Nov – Worm, Rotterdam with Grumbling Fur and Alexander Tucker (Solo)
25 Nov - Transmissions Festival, Ravenna (Solo)
26 Nov - Fall Festival, Mumble Rumble, Salerno (Solo)
27 Nov - La Fine, Rome (Solo)
3 Dec - Cave 12, Geneva (w/ This Is Not This Heat)
18 Dec - Servants Jazz Quarters, London (Daniel O'Sullivan & Dream Lion Ensemble, Richard Youngs and Alexander Tucker live with Tim Burgess & Nik Void DJ sets)
19 Dec - Servants Jazz Quarters, London (Grumbling Fur and Elephant House live with Luke Turner DJ set)

Download post as PDF file
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

[Valid Atom 1.0]

Click to download our free compilation albums!


Radio Nightbreed